Its a Comfort Food Kinda Day

19 Oct

Its a crappy, rainy, gross, grey, cloudy day out! If you are lucky enough to be reading this blog from somewhere nice, I envy you. Its days like this that always make me want something warm and delicious to feed my soul. This past weekend in my cleaning/packing/decorating excursions I took some time out to try a new recipe, Roasted Spaghetti Squash!

View out side of my window

Two weekends ago I had bought a spaghetti squash because I had seen a fair amount of recipes and also heard people raving about them. I made up my own recipe because I didn’t have one on hand and figured I couldn’t screw it up!

Garlic Roasted Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients:
1 Spaghetti Squash
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder
2 Teaspoons Black Pepper
2 Teaspoons Salt

Cut squash in half length wise and scoop out seeds/gook (like you would for cantaloupe). Combine garlic powder, pepper and salt together and sprinkle over the 2 halves. Place 1 tablespoon of butter in each half (you don’t need to spread it around since it will melt into the center hole). Place in 350 degree oven for 40-45 minutes.

When it comes out use a fork to pull away the squash from the skin. Pulling the fork from top to bottom will help you get long, spaghetti like strands.

Results after baking and removing most of the squash.

You can eat it like that or dress it up a little. I added a little bit of grated parmesan cheese and spaghetti sauce.

Bowl of plain spaghetti squash

NOTE: The nature of squash is to take on the flavor of whatever you put it in so for me it really did taste like spaghetti however Kyle did not approve. Give it a try though and see for yourself! The squash only cost about $3 at Kroger.  I baked my for 35 minutes and the squash was still a little undercooked so it had a crunch to it. I didn’t mind that but if you want a softer squash cook for the whole 40-45 minutes.

Let me know how your squash turns out!

Amy Marie

P.S. I know this has nothing to do with “Being Crafty Enough” but everyone loves a new recipe, right?

Leave a Reply

