Quilt in a Day!

27 Jan

I am so glad it is finally Friday and that tomorrow is our annual Wensink Family Quilt Day!! This is the 4th year we have done this and I look forward to each each time. Its a day where all the ladies in the family get together to sew. We usually pick out a project each year to work on, with the hopes of completing it in one day.

Over the years it has expanded to include in-laws, friends and who ever else wants to endure enjoy a day with the Wensinks. I am happy to say that my future mother-in-law and sister-in-law are making the trek north to sew with us this year.

Below are some pictures of our first quilt day project. Melinda made a barbie sized quilt and Aunt Rae made a beautiful lap quilt. We used the Rail Fence quilt block, which is an easy square for beginning quilters/sewers.

Last year we made awesome bags that were easy to make and big enough to hold anything you might need…including a baby or sewing machine! I couldn’t find the picture with the baby in the bag so you’ll just have to get the idea from this pic.

This year we are making a Lasagna Strip Quilt. You use a jelly roll to make it. If you Google strip quilt you will find lots of tutorials. Hopefully I will remember to take lots of pictures and I will share them with you next week.

I hope you all have a safe and wonderful weekend. I know I will really enjoy spending the time with my family!

Amy Marie

 

One Response to “Quilt in a Day!”

  1. Alisia Domer January 27, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Can’t wait! And I love the bag and the rail fence quilts!

Leave a Reply

