An Apple (Pie) a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

21 Oct

Its almost the weekend, woot! Unfortunately the weather outside still stinks. The weatherman said this morning that we could expect  frost and temps in the 30’s tonight. Its only October folks and I’m not sure I’m ready for winter to set in. I did also hear from a reliable source (no idea where) that this winter is going to be comparable to the winter of 1978! Yikes!

The great blizzard of ’78, I remember seeing pictures of my grandparents house with snow up to the second story. Mom also told me stories about climbing through the windows to get out and what it was like holed up in the house. I can only say I am thankful that I will not be commuting long distances for work and that Kyle told me he’d clean the garage out for me so my car wouldn’t be snow covered!

With a cold weekend ahead I have plans to stay inside and once again be productive. My mother and sister are making the 2 hour trek to Urbana to help me do a little cleaning at Kyles house. For those of you who don’t have a lot of plans for the weekend, I say its time to do some baking!

Mom’s Fool Proof Apple Pie

1 Box Pillsbury Pie Crust (contains enough for 1 double crust pie)
4-6 Apples Depending on Size ( I used large Golden Delicious and Granny Smith)
3/4 C. Sugar
1/4 C. Flour
1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Apples, yum!

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Peel and slice apples into a large bowl. Add in sugar, flour and cinnamon then mix. Place one pie crust into the bottom of your pie plate (don’t crimp edges yet) then pour apples into the pie plate. I try to buy a few extra apples so it the pie doesn’t look full enough you can add in some extras.

It should look like this!

Next you can add on the top crust and crimp the edges together. Make sure you don’t have any crust hanging over the edge of the plate. You can either crimp edges with your fingers or use a fork to press the dough together. Once the top is on use a knife or fork to poke some holes into the top of the dough. This lets the air escape when the pie is baking. My mom always puts a heart or letter in the middle. You can also cut some slits into the top. Lastly, wet your hand with some water and rub the top crust, then sprinkle sugar on top.

Wrap the outside edge of the pie crust with foil so it doesn’t burn during baking. Bake for 35-40 minutes then remove foil and bake for the remaining 5-10 minutes or until the edges are slightly browned.

Lovely Pies! One marked with a "D" and one with a Heart.

The best way to eat apple pie is with a little ice cream on the side! Last weekend I took one of my pies to Kyle’s brother Don, sister-in-law Alisia, and daughter Allison, along with his sister Amy, brother-in-law Adam and son Jake, for a little sibling bonding time. It was a lot of fun to just kick back and hang out with them. After we ate dinner I made a quick trip down to Fent’s, a little ice cream place down the road from their house.

Best desert everrr!

I realize that ice cream may be a little silly to eat while its so cold outside but if the pie is warm it will be worth it!

Hope everyone has a great weekend and stay warm!

Amy Marie

One Response to “An Apple (Pie) a Day Keeps the Doctor Away”

  1. Alisia Domer October 21, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your recipe! That was the best apple pie I’ve had! And we loved having the leftovers! I think it’s never too cold for ice cream-especially when there is hot pie involved!
    That’s so sweet that Kyle is going to clean out the garage for you!

Leave a comment